3 Mar 2023

National emergency ends for Northland, Auckland, Waikato and Tararua

3:52 pm on 3 March 2023
Kieran McAnulty

Emergency Management Minister Kieran McAnulty Photo: RNZ / Samuel Rillstone

States of national emergency have come to an end except in Hawke's Bay and Tai Rāwhiti, the government has confirmed.

In a statement, Emergency Management Minister Kieran McAnulty said the government was ending the states of national emergency in Northland, Auckland, Waikato and Tararua.

He confirmed Hawke's Bay and Tai Rāwhiti will remain under a state of national emergency for now.

Areas where the state of emergency was ending were immediately moved into a 90-day transition period, where the focus turns from response to recovery, after McAnulty signed a declaration at 7.56am.

He said this was similar to the approach taken after the 2016 Kaikōura earthquake. It gives Civil Defence teams powers to do things like clearing roads, disposing of dangerous materials, restoring access to cut-off properties or making temporary infrastructure repairs.

The states of national emergency were declared on 14 February after heavy rain and strong winds from Cyclone Gabrielle brought destruction and chaos to many communities.

"The devastating impact of Cyclone Gabrielle is still being felt by communities across the northern and eastern parts of the North Island," McAnulty said.

"It's going to be a long haul, and we are committed to a locally led recovery, supported by central government. The transition period will ensure the planning is coordinated for building back better."

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs