Race heats up as 12 people contest in the Hamilton West by-election

2:34 pm on 9 November 2022
No caption

Photo: RNZ

Twelve people will contest in the upcoming Hamilton West by-election.

The former Labour MP Gaurav Sharma who sparked the by-election after his resignation, is running, representing the New Zealand Momentum Party.

Labour will be represented by Georgie Dansey, National by Tama Potaka, and MP James McDowall for ACT.

The Greens and New Zealand First are not taking part in the by-election.

Other parties putting up candidates are Vision New Zealand, the Opportunities Party, the Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party, and a candidate jointly representing the New Conservative Party and the One Party.

Two independents are seeking the job along with the Money Free Party, New Zealand Outdoors and Freedom Party.

Advanced voting starts on 28 November and election day is on 10 December.

Gaurav Sharma billboard - Hamilton West by-election

Gaurav Sharma's billboard for the byelection. Photo: RNZ / Carol Stiles