Māori representatives appointed to important council committees

4:32 pm on 12 November 2019

Waikato District Council has voted to appoint Māori representatives to three of its major committees.

Rukumoana Schaafhausen.

Waikato-Tainui executive chairperson Rukumoana Schaafhausen. Photo: RNZ / Leigh-Marama McLachlan

The Maangai Māori will have full voting rights on the council's three principal committees, Strategy and Finance; Infrastructure and Policy and Regulatory.

Waikato-Tainui executive chairperson, Rukumoana Schaafhausen, said they welcomed the decision.

"These are significant positions because they provide an opportunity for a Māori worldview to be heard in the engine room of council business," she said.

"I want to congratulate the council for making this move to ensure council decision-making is better informed and therefore reflective of Māori and the wider community."

The three representatives will be appointed in the new year by the Mayor Allan Sanson and three others, including the chairperson of appointments at Waikato-Tainui.

Mr Sanson said he was proud of today's vote and said the inclusion of Māori representatives at the committee level had been a long time coming.

"I look forward to seeing the voice of Māori strengthened in our council decision-making and engagement," he said.

"This is a positive thing for our district and organisation."

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs