6 Mar 2018

Wellington bus upgrades to roll out from April

1:05 pm on 6 March 2018

More details have been revealed of the new commuter bus plans that are part of a $1.3 billion transport and infrastructure upgrade in Wellington, Hutt Valley, Porirua, Kapiti and Wairarapa.

No caption

Photo: RNZ / Richard Tindiller

The Wellington Regional Council plans include new diesel buses in different sizes, and some electric double-deckers, with new colours, and in some cases different routes.

The Snapper electronic payment cards will be in use throughout the Metlink bus system, and people will be able to swap other payment cards for Snapper at no charge.

In Wellington itself there will be several interlinked suburban transport hubs, meaning fewer buses going through the central city.

The changes will be rolled out in three phases: in Wairarapa from the end of April 30th, Hutt Valley and Eastbourne from mid-June 17th, and in Wellington, Porirua and Kapiti a month after that from July 15th.

Trips on public transport in the regional council areas are expected to increase from an annual 38 million, to 42 million by 2024.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs