19 May 2009

15 candidates to contest Mt Albert by-election

3:53 pm on 19 May 2009

Fifteen candidates will stand in the Mt Albert by-election, the Chief Electoral Office has confirmed. Nominations closed on Tuesday.

Candidates from the main political parties have been confirmed, including Labour's David Shearer and National's Melissa Lee.

Former United Future MP Judy Turner will stand for the party against Simonne Dyer for the Kiwi Party and independent Jim Bagnall of the Union of Fathers.

Ben Boyce of the Bill and Ben Party, a satirical party made up of members from the television show Pulp Sport is also running for election, along with Dakta Green of the Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party.

The by-election will be held on 13 June to fill the seat vacated by former prime minister Helen Clark who has taken a senior position with the United Nations.

The Mt Albert electorate has been held by Labour since its formation in 1946. Advance voting begins next week.

List of candidates

Jim Bagnall (Union of Fathers) Ari Barker (Independent), John Boscawen (ACT New Zealand), Ben Boyce (The Bill and Ben Party), Simonne Dyer (Kiwi Party), Malcolm France (People Before Profit), Dakta Green (Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party), Rusty Kane (The People's Choice Party), Melissa Lee (National Party), Russel Norman (Green Party), Julian Pistorius (Libertarianz), David Shearer (Labour Party), Judy Turner (United Future), Anthony Van Den Heuvel (Human Rights Party), Jackson James Wood (Independent).