13 Aug 2016

Auckland Future doubles down on single seat

9:23 am on 13 August 2016

A nomination blunder in Auckland has pitted two candidates from the same party against each other in the race for a seat on the council.

Auckland Councillor Denise Krum at a Council meeting about the Unitary Plan. 10 August 2016.

Current Auckland Maungakiekie-Tamaki councillor Denise Krum is facing opposition from a man backed by her own backers. Photo: RNZ / Cole Eastham-Farrelly

Viliami Tiseli from the National Party-aligned Auckland Future group has been mistakenly nominated against the group's sitting councillor Denise Krum in the single-seat Maungakiekie-Tamaki ward.

Auckland Future co-ordinator Sue Wood was unaware of the slip-up when contacted by RNZ shortly after publication of the candidate nominations last night, and was checking to see what had happened.

Mr Tiseli was meant to have been nominated for the second-tier local board.

Returning officer Dale Ofsoske said that once nominated, a candidate's name must appear on the ballot paper and could not be withdrawn.

Auckland Council confirmed the nomination was not an error in processing.

Another candidate which Auckland Future had announced, So'oalo Mua did not appear among those nominated for the Manukau Ward, but it was not clear last night why.

Bill Cashmore has also been elected unopposed to the rural Franklin ward.

However, larger battles loomed in two wards which in 2013 returned three councillors unopposed.

Long-standing politicians Dick Quax and Sharon Stewart will face eight other contenders in the Howick ward, while four have been nominated for Ōrakei ward where there was no contest last time.

The mayoralty had attracted its traditional long list of hopefuls, with 17 candidates in the mix.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs