11 Oct 2010

Rankin elected to Waitemata health board

5:30 pm on 11 October 2010

The former head of the Department of Work and Income, Christine Rankin, has been elected to the Waitemata District Health Board.

Preliminary results of the district health board elections are being released as they come to hand.

Ms Rankin has been elected to the Waitemata board, along with women's health campaigner Sandra Coney and former long-distance runner Allison Roe.

Upper North Island

Auckland District Health Board has four new members - Judith Bassett, Lee Mathias, Peter Aitken and Robyn Northey.

The husband of Police Minister Judith Collins has lost his bid for election to Counties-Manukau District Health Board.

Barrister David Wong-Tung was one of 24 candidates for the south Auckland board.

Five of the seven current elected members were re-elected, with Manukau's Arthur Anae topping the poll.

David Collings and Lyn Murphy are joining the board as new members.

And Bill Sanderson was the clear favourite in Northland, topping the poll with 5764 votes.

There are four new faces at the Lakes District Health Board in Rotorua, and Matua Parkinson is a new face at the Bay of Plenty board.

Central North Island

The Waikato board has four new members - Martin Gallagher, former Kiwi Air chief executive Ewan Wilson, Andrew Buckley and Clyde Wade.

Sitting members Jack Havill and Ted Armstrong failed to gain re-election, as did suspended board member Saresh Vatsyayann.

Outspoken surgeon Clive Solomon has been re-elected to the Whanganui District Health Board - its highest-polling candidate - with 6309 votes.

Also returned at that board are former Whanganui mayor Michael Laws and Kate Joblin, who was the Government-appointed chair and who has been elected in her own right.

The only clinician standing for election in Taranaki, local family doctor Peter Catt, was re-elected, topping the poll in the preliminary results with 10,172 votes.

Five current board members have been re-elected to MidCentral District Health Board in Palmerston North: Diane Anderson, Barbara Robson, Lindsay Burnell, Ann Chapman and Jack Drummond. They are joined by Karen Naylor, wife of Palmerston North Mayor Pat Kelly.

Several members re-elected in Wellington

Several well-known current members of the Capital and Coast District Health Board in Wellington have been re-elected comfortably.

Judith Aitken, a former chair of the board, is the top-polling candidate on 12,981 votes, along with Helene Ritchie and Margaret Faulkner.

Virginia Hope was re-elected.

New members are independent Barbara Donaldson and David Choat, standing for "Care Not Cuts".

Only one board member who stood for re-election, clinician Peter Roberts, failed to gain re-election.

The Health Ministry's director of public health, Mark Jacobs, who stood for election to the board and later withdrew his candidacy, is listed as having received no votes.

A former mayor of Lower Hutt, as well as a former MP, John Terris, has been elected to the Hutt Valley District Health Board, along with Upper Hutt Mayor Wayne Guppy, and David Ogden, who was defeated after two terms as mayor of Lower Hutt.

South Island boards

Nelson Marlborough District Health Board has four new members: John Inder, Gordon Currie, Fleur Hansby and Gerald Hope.

Five current members of West Coast District Health Board have been re-elected. They are Kevin Brown, Sharon Pugh, William Vaile, Elinor Stratford and Helen Gillespie, who are to be joined by Douglas Truman and Mary Molloy.

There are three new members of Canterbury District Health Board: Aaron Keown, who was the top-polling candidate, on 13,327, Wendy Gilchrist and Chris Mene.

In South Canterbury, five current candidates have been returned.

Former Southland District Health Board chairman Paul Menzies has been elected to the new Southern District Health Board.

Preliminary results show that Neville Cook and Kaye Crowther will also join the board from Southland.

Elected from Otago are a former chair of the Otago District Health Board, Richard Thomson, along with Branko Sijnja, Malcolm MacPherson and Mary Flannery.