9 Oct 2010

Hamilton elects new mayor

6:20 pm on 9 October 2010

Hamilton has a new Mayor.

She's Julie Hardaker who received 12,520 votes beating the incumbent, Bob Simcock by 797 votes.

The results represent approximately 95% of the votes cast.

Ms Hardaker, who is a lawyer, is new to local body politics.

The 12 elected councillors include eight returned to office, two new councillors and two who have served on council before.

The two are former Labour MP Martin Gallagher and the former head of Kiwi Airline, Ewan Wilson.

Nine of the councillors are independents, and three belong to the Rates Control ticket.

Meanwhile, Neil Sinclair has been returned as the Mayor of South Waikato.

He beat his nearest rival by 2703 votes.

And also returning to office are Hugh Vercoe Mayor of the Matamata-Piako district, and the Mayor of Waipa District in Waikato, Alan Livingston.