Navigation for The Sampler

Nick Bollinger reviews new releases by prolific Ohio indie artist Robert Pollard and bookish alt-pop band Okkervil River; and talks to Bryce Dessner of The National about his collaboration with contemporary classical trailblazers the Kronos Quartet.


Artist: Robert Pollard
Songs: He Requested Things, Suit Minus The Middle, She Hides In Black, Find A Word, Who Buries The Undertaker, I Have To Drink, Her Eyes Play Tricks On The Camera
Composer: Pollard
Album: Honey Locust Honky Tonk
Label: Fire

Artist: The National
Songs: Demons
Composer: The National
Album: Trouble Will Find Me
Label: 4AD

Artist: Kronos Quartet
Songs: Dark Was The Night
Composer: Blind Willie Johnson
Album: Dark Was The Night
Label: 4AD

Artist: Kronos Quartet
Songs: Little Blue, Ahyem, Tenebre, Tour Eiffel
Composer: Dessner
Album: Ahyem
Label: Nonesuch

Artist: Okkervil River
Songs: Down Down The Deep River, It Was My Season, On A Balcony, Black Nemo
Composer: Sheff
Album: The Silver Gymnasium
Label: Universal