1 Nov 2020

Ngaio Marsh crime writing award winners announced

From Standing Room Only, 12:15 pm on 1 November 2020

Simon Morris speaks to the winners of the Ngaio Marsh crime writing awards which were announced on Saturday the 31st of October at the Word Christchurch Festival. The awards celebrate the genre in New Zealand fiction produced by writers based in Aotearoa and around the world. 

This year the nominees include some new inmates and some old lags and cover a vast array of different subjects under the banner of crime writing. 

Becky Manawatu won the award for best crime writing for her novel Auē and R.W.R. McDonald has picked up the award for best new crime writing with his debut novel The Nancy's. They both speak to Simon Morris about the wide world of crime fiction in 2021. 

No caption

Photo: Ngaio Marsh Awards