31 Mar 2019

Live cross to Storylines Awards

From Standing Room Only, 2:49 pm on 31 March 2019
Janelle Wilkey

Janelle Wilkey Photo: supplied

Amy Haarhoff

Amy Haarhoff Photo: supplied

It's an afternoon of prizes and book launches in Auckland today at  the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and National Awards Day.

The big winners have - literally - just been announced, and Lynn Freeman talks to two of them.

The Storylines Joy Cowley Award for a picture book text has gone to Janelle Wilkey, from Blenheim for her story Mrs Brook's Chook.

Amy Haarhoff, from Palmerston North has won the Storylines Gavin Bishop Award for an unpublished illustrator. This is for her work on Clare Scott's story Ruru and Kiwi's Midnight Feast.