23 Oct 2016

Frances Fellows

From Standing Room Only, 1:33 pm on 23 October 2016


For 50 years, the University of Otago has offered artists a chance to concentrate on their work for a year, by offering a stipend, gallery and accommodation.

Ralph Hotere, Michael Smither,  Marilynn Webb, Fiona Pardington and  Shane Cotton are among the The Frances Hodgkins Fellows of years gone by.

An exhibition of work by former fellows is about to go on show in Dunedin - Lynn Freeman spoke to three of them: 

Marte Szirmay from the 70s, Denis O'Connor who was the 1985 Fellow,and from the 1990s Seraphine Pick.