8 Jun 2024

Nashville Babylon: 8 June 2024

From Nashville Babylon, 6:00 pm on 8 June 2024

This audio is not downloadable due to copyright restrictions.

Sonny Boy Williamson

Sonny Boy Williamson Photo: supplied

On this week's Nashville Babylon there's a previously unreleased song from Johnny Cash, a folk classic courtesy of Nic Jones, a boogie woogie stunner from Hadda Brooks plus blues from Sonny Boy Williamson.

Songs Played:

Artist: JJ Cale

Track: Clyde

Composer: JJ Cale

Album: Naturally

Label: RCA


Artist: Sonny Boy Williamson II

Track: Checking Up On My Baby

Composer: Sonny Boy Williamson II

Album: The Real Folk Blues

Label: Chess


Artist: Howlin' Wolf

Track: Who's Been Talking

Composer: Howlin' Wolf

Album: Howlin' Wolf

Label: Chess


Artist: Roosevelt Sykes

Track: Sweet Old Chicago

Composer: Johnson

Album: Blues By Roosevelt Sykes

Label: Smithsonian Folkways


Artist: Gene Vincent

Track: Race With The Devil

Composer: Vincent / Davis

Album: Single

Label: Capitol


Artist: Johnny Cash

Track: Well Alright

Composer: Cash

Album: Songwriter

Label: Mercury


Artist: Rory Gallagher

Track: I Could've Had Religion

Composer:Trad / arr Rory Gallagher

Album: Live In Europe

Label: RCA


Artist: Hadda Brooks

Track:  Swingin' The Boogie

Composer: Brooks

Album:  Swingin' The Boogie

Label: Ace


Artist: Bobby Lee Tramell

Track: Shirley Lee

Composer: Tramell

Album: His Very Best

Label: Collector


Artist: Whiskeytown

Track: Houses On The Hill

Composer: Adams / Cary

Album: Strangers Almanac

Label: Outpost


Artist: Scud Mountain Boys

Track: Penthouse In The Woods

Composer: Pernice

Album: Massachusetts

Label: Sub Pop


Artist: Nic Jones

Track: Canadee I O

Composer: Trad

Album: Penguin Eggs

Label: Topic


Artist: Hank Williams

Track: Lost Highway

Composer: Leon Payne

Album: Best Of

Label: Hank Williams


Artist: Madeleine Peyroux

Track: River Of Tears

Composer: Peyroux / Klein

Album: Bare Bones

Label: Rounder


Artist: Frank Sinatra

Track: Witchcraft

Composer:  Coleman / Leigh

Album: Nothing But The Best

Label: Capitol


Artist: The Noveltones

Track: Left Bank Two

Composer: Wayne Hill

Album: Left Bank Two - Single

Label: De Wolfe Music

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes