27 Apr 2024

Nashville Babylon: 27 April 2024

From Nashville Babylon, 6:00 pm on 27 April 2024

This audio is not downloadable due to copyright restrictions.

Cat Power.

Cat Power. Photo: Unknown

On this week's Nashville Babylon there's classic blues from Ma Rainey and Freddie King, soul courtesy of Otis Redding and Nina Simone, reggae from Marcia Griiffith plus Cat Power covering Jackson Browne.

Music Played:

Artist: The Fabulous Wailers

Track: Long Cool One

Composer: Dangel / Greek / Morrill

Album: Roots Of Hendrix

Label: Mojo


Artist: Freddie King

Track: I'm Torn Down

Composer: Thompson

Album: Freddie King Sings

Label: King


Artist: The Fabulous Thunderbirds

Track: She's Tuff

Composer: McCain

Album: Girls Go Wild

Label: Chrysalis


Artist: Lonesome Sundown

Track: If Anybody Asks You

Composer: Green

Album: If Anybody Asks You

Label: Flyright


Artist: Sonny Boy Williamson

Track:  Don't Start Me Talking

Composer: Sonny Boy Williamson

Album: Single

Label: Checker


Artist: Otis Redding

Track: Louie Louie

Composer: Berry

Album: Pain In My Heart

Label: Volt


Artist: Nina Simone

Track: Funkier Than A Mosquito's Tweeter

Composer: Bullock

Album: Single

Label: Jazzman


Artist: Marcia Grifiths

Track: Don't Let Me Down

Composer: Lennon / McCartney

Album: Play Me Sweet and Nice

Label: Be With Records


Artist: Bob Dylan - Subterranean Homesick Blues

Track: Subterranean Homesick Blues

Composer: Bob Dylan

Album: Single

Label: Columbia


Artist: Charlie Feathers

Track: Get With It

Composer: Feathers / Chastain / Huffman

Album: Single

Label: Meteor


Artist: Gram Parsons

Track: We'll Sweep Out The Ashes In The Morning

Composer: Joyce Ann Allsup

Album: GP

Label: Reprise


Artist: Ma Rainey

Track: Black Bottom

Composer: Rainey

Album: Single

Label: Paramount


Artist: Courtney Marie Andrews

Track:  May Your Kindness Remain

Composer: Courtney Marie Andrews

Album: May Your Kindness Remain

Label: Fat Possum


Artist: Cat Power

Track: These Days

Composer: Jackson Browne

Album: Covers

Label: Domino


Artist: Tom Rush

Track: No Regrets

Composer: Tom Rush

Album: The Circle Game

Label: Elektra


Artist: The Noveltones

Track: Left Bank Two

Composer: Wayne Hill

Album: Single

Label: DeWolfe

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes