19 Aug 2023

Nashville Babylon: 19 August 2023

From Nashville Babylon, 6:00 pm on 19 August 2023

This audio is not downloadable due to copyright restrictions.

no caption

Photo: AFP/commons

On this week's Nashville Babylon Mark plays new music from Ebony Lamb, birthday tunes for Isaac Hayes, classic soul courtesy of Aretha Franklin and Baby Washington plus a live track from Irish guitar hero Rory Gallagher.

Songs Played:

Artist: Isaac Hayes

Track: Theme From Shaft

Composer: Isaac Hayes

Album: Single

Label: Enterprise


Artist: Sam and Dave

Track: Hold On I'm Coming

Composer: Isaac Hayes / David Porter

Album: Single

Label: Stax


Artist: James and Bobby Purify

Track: I Take What I Want

Composer: Isaac Hayes / David Porter

Album: Single

Label: Stax


Artist: The Bar Keys

Track: Son Of Shaft

Composer: Jones / Banks / Brown

Album: Single

Label: Stax


Artist: Freddie King

Track: I'm Torn Down

Composer: Thompson

Album: Freddie King Sings

Label: King


Artist: Rory Gallagher

Track: Bullfrog Blues

Composer: Tradd arr Gallagher

Album: Live In Europe

Label: Polydor


Artist: The Gladiators

Track: Bellyfull

Composer: Griffiths

Album: Trenchtown Mix Up

Label: Virgin Front Line


Artist: Georgia White

Track: The Blues Ain't Nothing

Composer:White / Williams

Album: Complete Recorded Works

Label: Document


Artist: Ruth Brown

Track: It's Love Baby

Composer: Jarrett

Album: Single

Label: Atlantic


Artist: Ebony Lamb

Track: My Daughter My Sister My Son

Composer: Ebony Lamb

Album: Single

Label: https://ebonylamb.com/


Artist: Baby Washington

Track: That's How Heartaches Are Made

Composer: Halley / Raleigh

Album: Single

Label: Sue


Artist: Aretha Franklin

Track: Blue By Myself

Composer: McFarland / Bailey

Album: The First 12 Sides

Label: Columbia


Artist: Esther Phillips

Track: No Headstone On My Grave

Composer: Charlie Rich

Album: The Country Side Of Esther Phillips

Label: Atlantic


Artist: Big Mama Thornton

Track: Let's Go Get Stoned

Composer: Ashford / Simpson / Armstead

Album: Stronger Than Dirt

Label: Mercury


Artist: The Noveltones

Track: Left Bank Two

Composer: Wayne Hill

Album: Single

Label: DeWolf Music