22 Jul 2023

Nashville Babylon: 22 July 2023

From Nashville Babylon, 6:00 pm on 22 July 2023

This audio is not downloadable due to copyright restrictions.

No Caption

Photo: AFP

On this week's show Mark plays soul from Wilson Pickett and Curtis Mayfield, a live gospel track courtesy of Aretha Franklin, reggae from Marcia Griffiths plus an all time classic from JJ Cale.

Songs Played:

Artist: Curtis Mayfield

Track: Pusherman

Composer: Curtis Mayfield

Album:  Super Fly OST

Label: Rhino


Artist: Wilson Pickett

Track: Land Of A 1000 Dances

Composer: Kenner

Album: The Exciting Wilson Pickett

Label: Atlantic


Artist: Jr Walker and the Allstars

Track: Shotgun

Composer: Walker

Album: Single

Label: Motown


Artist: Bobby Parker

Track: Watch Your Step

Composer: Robert Lee Parker

Album: A Little Shot  Of Rhythm 'n' Blues

Label: Delta


Artist: Lulu Reed

Track: Your Love Keeps Working On Me

Composer: Bridge / Thompson

Album: It Ain't Meat

Label: Gusto


Artist: Aretha Franklin

Track: How I Got Over

Composer: Clara Ward

Album: Amazing Grace

Label: Atlantic


Artist: Kevin Morby

Track: Beautiful Strangers

Composer: Morby

Album: Single

Label: https://kevinmorby.bandcamp.com/album/beautiful-strangers-b-w-no-place-to-fall


Artist: Jesse Winchester

Track: Ghosts

Composer: Jesse Winchester

Album: A Reasonable Amount Of Trouble

Label: Appleseed Recordings


Artist: Marcia Griffiths

Track: The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

Composer: MacColl

Album: Play Me Sweet And Nice

Label: Trojan


Artist: La Marisoul & Los Texmaniacs

Track: Before The Next Teardrop Falls

Composer: Freddy Fender

Album: Corazones and Canciones

Label: Smithsonian


Artist: John Prine

Track: Taking A Walk

Composer: John Prine

Album: Fair and Square

Label: Oh Boy


Artist: JJ Cale

Track: Magnolia

Composer: Cale

Album: Naturally

Label: A&M


Artist: The Noveltones

Track: Left Bank Two

Composer: Wayne Hill

Album: Single

Label: DeWolf

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes