8 Jul 2019

Nashville Babylon 8 July, 2019

From Nashville Babylon, 11:00 pm on 8 July 2019

On this week's show Mark plays new music from Tanya Tucker and New Zealand's Pig Island. There's also blues courtesy of Ray Charles, Mike Henderson and Sister O.M Terrell, Kiwi country from Tami Neilson, news of the long awaited screening of Aretha Franklin's film Amazing Grace and a handful of classics from Tim Buckley and Judee Sill.


Artist: Ray Charles

Track: Ray's Blues
Composer: Ray Charles
Album: The Genius Sings The Blues
Label: Atlantic


 Artist: Tanya Tucker

Track: Hard Luck
Composer: Tanya Tucker
Album: While I'm Livin'
Label: Fantasy


 Artist: Mike Henderson

Track: One Foot In The Honky Tonk
Composer: Michael Henderson
Album: Jukebox Cowboy
Label: Vinyl Junkie


 Artist: Chuck Berry

Track: Wee Wee Hours
Composer: Chuck Berry
Album: The Best Of Chuck Berry

Label: Music Club


 Artist: Pig Island

Track: Ordinary Lies
Composer: Antony Jeffares / Luke Thompson.
Album: Single



Artist: Tami Neilson
Track: Manitoba Sunrise At Motel Six
Composer: Neilson
Album: Sassafras
Label:  Southbound 

 Artist: Patsy Cline

Track: Leavin' On Your Mind
Composer: Pierce / Walker
Album: The Patsy Cline Story

Label: Decca


 Artist: Aretha Franklin

Track: Mary Don't You Weep
Composer: Trad
Album: Amazing Grace

Label: Atlantic


 Artist: Sister O.M Terrell

Track: Swing Low Chariot
Composer: Trad

Album:  Bottles Knives & Steel

Label: CBS


 Artist: Tim Buckley

Track: Song To A Siren
Composer: Buckley
Album: Starsailor

Label: Enigma


 Artist: Judee Sill

Track: My Man On Love
Composer: Judee Sill
Album: Judee Sill

Label: Asylum


 Artist: Van Morrison

Track: Crazy Love
Composer: Van Morrison
Album: Moondance

Label: Warner Bros


 Artist: Weaver & Beasley

Track: Bottleneck Blues
Composer: Sylvester Weaver / Walter Beasley
Album:  Bottles Knives & Steel

Label: CBS

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes