4 Mar 2019

Nashville Babylon 4 March 2019

From Nashville Babylon, 11:00 pm on 4 March 2019

On this week's Nashville Babylon Mark plays tracks from Mercury Rev's reworking of Bobbie Gentry's album the Delta Sweete, spins classic blues from Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf and airs a live track recorded especially for RNZ by Nadia Reid.

Artist: The Band
Track: The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
Composer: Robertson
Album: The Last Waltz
Label: Capitol

Artist: Big Boss Man
Track: Party 7
Composer: Bouzida / Burgess
Album: Humanize
Label: Blow Up

Artist: Tina Turner
Track: Whole Lotta Love
Composer: Bonham / Dixon/ Jones / Page / Plant
Album: Acid Queen
Label: EMI

Artist: Howlin' Wolf
Track: Evil (is Goin' On) 
Composer: Willie Dixon
Album: Evil
Label: Blackdog

Artist: Muddy Waters
Track: Howling Wolf
Composer: Morganfield
Album: Vintage Blues
Label: Delta

Artist: Stretch
Track: Less Rock More Roll
Composer:Anthony Stretch
Album: Bury All Horses
Label: Southbound 


Artist: Nadia Reid
Track: All Of My Love
Composer: Nadia Reid
Album: RNZ session



Artist: Linda Thompson
Track: Nice Cars
Composer: Kamila Thompson
Album: Versatile Heart
Label: Rounder

Artist: Mercury Rev
Track: Okolona River Bottom Band
Composer: Bobbie Gentry
Album: Bobbie Gentry's The Delta Sweete Revisited
Label: Bella Union

Artist: Mercury Rev
Track:Big Boss Man
Composer: Luther Dixon / Al Smith
Album: Bobbie Gentry's The Delta Sweete Revisited
Label: Bella Union  

Artist: The Delines
Track:Let Us Be Us Again
Composer: Willy Vlautin
Album: The Imperial
Label: Decor

Artist: Heather Weir
Track: Blue
Composer: Heather Weir
Album: Single
Label: https://soundcloud.com/heather-weir-music/blue

Artist: John Fahey
Track: Remember
Composer: Irving Berlin
Album: Red Cross
Label: Revenant