13 Aug 2018

Nashville Babylon 13 August, 2018

From Nashville Babylon, 11:00 pm on 13 August 2018

On this week's show Mark spins a heady mix of country, soul and rock 'n'roll from the likes of Townes Van Zandt, Larry Jon Wilson, Esther Phillips and Chuck Prophet. There's also new music from Dawn Landes, a track to mark the anniversary of the death of Elvis Presley and a lost jazz classic from John Coltrane.

Artist: Fleetwood Mac
Track: Black Magic Woman
Composer: Peter Green
Album: Vintage Years
Label: CBS

Artist: Chuck Prophet
Track: Jesus Was A Social Drinker
Composer: Prophet
Album: Bobby Fuller Died For Your Sins
Label: Yep Roc

Artist: Larry Jon Wilson
Track: Sheldon Churchyard
Composer: Wilson
Album: Country Got Soul
Label: Casual

Artist: Dawn Landes
Track: Meet Me At The River
Composer: Landes
Album: Meet Me At The River
Label: Southbound

Artist: Il Canto Di Malvita
Track:I Cunfirenti
Composer: Trad
Album: La Musica Della Mafia
Label: PIAS

Artist: Townes Van Zandt
Track: Waitin' ' Round To Die
Composer: Townes Van Zandt
Album: Heartworn Highways
Label: Loose

Artist: Roy & Millie
Track: We'll Meet
Composer: Derek Morgan
Album: Rough And Tough
Label: Trojan

Artist: Elvis Presley
Track: Tomorrow Night
Composer: Coslow / Grosz
Album: Elvis For Everyone!
Label: RCA

Artist: Charles Lloyd & The Marvels w/ Lucinda Williams
Track: Ventura
Composer: Lucinda Williams
Album: Vanished Gardens
Label: Blue Note

Artist: Esther Phillips
Track: I Saw Me
Composer: Davis / Jones
Album: Behind Closed Doors
Label: Kent Records

Artist: The Clash
Track: Rebel Waltz
Composer: Strummer / Jones
Album: Sandinista
Label: CBS

Artist: Holly Arrowsmith
Track: Love Together
Composer: Holly Arrowsmith
Album: A Dawn I Remember
Label: http://www.hollyarrowsmith.com/

Artist: John Coltrane
Track: Nature Boy
Composer: Ahbez
Album: Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album
Label: Impulse

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes