9 Jan 2017

Nashville Babylon 9 January 2017

From Nashville Babylon, 11:00 pm on 9 January 2017
Van Morrison

Van Morrison Photo: David Gahr

On this week's show Mark plays hidden gems from Lowell George, Shelby Lynn and Booker T Jones among others and pays tribute to Leonard Cohen and David Bowie…

Music Details

Artist: Willis Jackson
Track: Pool Shark
Composer: W. Jackson
Album: Mod Jazz
Label: Ace

Artist: Alejandro Escovedo
Track: Castanets
Composer: Escovedo
Album: A Man Under The Influence
Label: Bloodshot

Artist: Split Lip Rayfield
Track: Kiss Of Death
Composer: Mardis
Album: The Rough Guide To Americana
Label: Rough Guides

Artist: Candi Staton
Track: I'm Just A Prisoner
Composer: Jackson / Harris
Album: I'm Just A Prisoner
Label: Fame

Artist: Shelby Lynne
Track: Gotta Get Back
Composer: Bottrell, Lynne, Dorothy Overstreet
Album: I Am Shelby Lynne
Label: Universal

Artist: Van Morrison
Track: Bulbs
Composer: Morrison
Album: Veedon Fleece
Label: Polygram

Artist: Kid Bailey
Track: Rowdy Blues
Composer: Bailey
Album: Rough Guide To Delta Blues
Label: Southbound

Artist: Lowell George
Track: 20 Million Things
Composer: George / Levy
Album: Thanks I'll Eat It Here
Label: Warner Bros

Artist: Simon Alpin
Track: Row To Hoe
Composer: Alpin
Album: On The Wire
Label: Ravine

Artist: Madeleine Peyroux
Track: Dance Me To The End Of Love
Composer: Cohen
Album: Careless Love
Label: Rounder

Artist: Andre Williams & The Sadies
Track: Pardon Me I've Got Someone To Kill
Composer: Johnny Paycheck
Album: Rough Guide To Americana
Label: Rough Guides

Artist: Booker T Jones
Track: Knocking On Heaven's Door
Composer: Dylan
Album: Black America
Label: Ace

Artist: The Last Town Chorus
Track: Modern Love
Composer: Bowie
Album: Wire Waltz
Label: Loose

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes