Saturday 19 September

2-3 pm

Sounds of the 2009 Silver Scroll song writing awards. (More about this below)

We head to harmony central with World Barbershop champions OC Times.

Electric Wire Hustle bring the psychedelic soul.

Nick Bollinger reviews Kamaal the Abstract - the lost album from Tribe Called Quest rapper Q Tip.

3-4 pm

The Verlaines join us in the studio with for a live-to-air session.

NZ alt classics get a makeover at the hands of German label Morr Music, we speak with label head Thomas Morr.

4-5 pm

The Secret Life of Music Video Directors features Stuart Page, Joe Lonie and Andrew Morton, who share their passion for mixing music and moving image.

Watch the videos discussed in The Secret Life of Music Video Directors.

Stuart Page

Music Video Director Stuart Page. Photo by Todd Winlove.

Meet West London band Flashguns - who are minding the gap.

And lots of great music, new and old.

Apra Silver Scrolls 2009

For the first time in its history, The Apra Silver Scrolls song writing awards were held in Christchurch on Thursday 18 September 2009. Here are the winners, with links to interviews and sessions we've recorded with them.

APRA Silver Scroll Award: James Milne & Luke Buda (Lawrence Arabia) Apple Pie Bed
Published by Mushroom Music NZ

Here is Lawrence Arabia in Session for Music 101

And again, with Samuel Flynn Scott of The Phoenix Foundation where they perform Apple Pie Bed.

New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame Induction: Hirini Melbourne & Richard Nunns

He Ara Pūoro (A Pathway of Song) is a collaboration between Richard Nunns and Radio New Zealand, whereby Richard plays and begins to describe the many traditional Māori instruments in his collection.

And here is an interview about their 1994 album Te Ku Te Whe ("The Woven Mat of Sound") which was remixed and re-presented by a distinguished crew of contemporary NZ artists in 2006.

APRA Maioha Award celebrating contemporary Maori music: Rewi Spraggon and Riki Bennett (Te Aratoi) with 'Tapapakanga'

Here is Te Aratoi in session and discussion for Music 101

Most Performed Work in New Zealand: Jeremy Redmore, Simon Oscroft, Matthew Warman, Aidan Bartlett & Nick Campbell (Midnight Youth) with The Letter.

SOUNZ Contemporary Award recognising creative excellence by a classical composer: Ross Harris with Symphony III.

Listen to a collection of recordings and interviews from the Silver Scrolls 2009 Awards ceremony held in Christchurch on 15 September 2009.