20 Sep 2016

Great New Zealand Album: Tears - The Crocodiles

From Afternoons with Jesse Mulligan, 2:32 pm on 20 September 2016
The Crocodiles

The Crocodiles Photo: Supplied

Essentially a progression from groups The Spats and Blerta and all-female band The Wide Mouthed Frogs, The Crocodiles were somewhat of a Wellington super group. Forming in 1979 The Crocs headed directly into the recording studio to make their first album Tears, which was released in April 1980.

Guitarist and vocalist Fane Flaws recalls the experience in conversation with Jesse Mulligan.

At the time the band comprised of six players, Peter Dasent on Keyboards, Tony Backhouse on Guitar, Bruno Lawrence - Drums, Tina Mathews - bass and lead singer Jenny Morris, as well as Flaws.

At the 1980 New Zealand Music Awards the The Crocodiles took out the 'Top Group' and 'Most Promising Group' awards. The album, and its lead single 'Tears' both peaked at #17 on the NZ charts, but time has proven them to be kiwi pop classics.

The Crocodiles recorded a second album, Looking at Ourselves which was released in November 1980, before the band broke up for good.

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes

Subscribe to Afternoons with Jesse Mulligan

Podcast (MP3) Oggcast (Vorbis)