Incumbents dominate early election results in Solomon Islands

12:43 pm on 5 April 2019
Solomon Islands election result board

Photo: RNZ Pacific/ Koroi Hawkins

Incumbent MPs are dominating early election results in Solomon Islands.

Seven of the ten seats declared overnight were returned to their former occupants.

The only three new MPs so far are former clerk to parliament Clezy Rore, who ousted former foreign minister Milner Tozaka for the North Vella La Vella Constituency seat.

The former permanent secretary of the ministry of finance Harry Kuma who ousted former commerce minister Connelly Sandakabatu for the Northwest Choiseul seat and finally Robertson Galokale who ousted Elijah Doromuala for the South Choiseul seat.

Among the returning MPs are former prime minister Manasseh Sogavare for East Choiseul, former health ministers Dr Tautai Agikimua Kaituu and Charles Sigoto for Rennell and Bellona and Rannonga Simbo respectively.

The other successful incumbent MPs were Samuel Manetoali for Gao Bugotu Constituency, Willie Marau for Ulawa Ugi and Nestor Giro for Central Makira.

Counting resumes across the country this morning with more results expected throughout the day.