23 Mar 2019

CNMI special election today

12:39 pm on 23 March 2019

In the Northern Marianas, the Commonwealth Election Commission is urging residents of Precinct 3 on Saipan to vote in their special election today for the vacant seat in the House of Representatives.

The first six days of early voting so far has yielded only a total of 649 voters. As of last January 28, there were 3,361 registered voters for Precinct 3.

The candidates for the Precinct 3 House seat are Marco Taisakan Peter of the Republican Party, Donald Cabrera Barcinas of the Democratic Party, and independents David Castro Sablan and Mariano DLG Fajardo.

The special election is being held following the death of representative Francisco D. Dela Cruz last January.