23 Oct 2018

Bougainville by-election decided

3:24 pm on 23 October 2018

The newest member in the autonomous Bougainville parliament is Albert Toro, who has won the Taonita Teop constituency by-election.

Flag of autonomous region of Bougainville, Papua New Guinea

Photo: manganganath/123RF

Mr Toro, who is a film maker, got 1710 votes with the runner up Joseph Pais getting 1388 votes.

Taonita Teop constituency has been without a MP for over two years after the death of Raopos Apou Tepia in 2016.