French Polynesia's territorial assembly to elect a new president

6:40 am on 19 May 2018

French Polynesia's territorial assembly is today due to elect a new president for a five-year term.

The incumbent Edouard Fritch of the ruling Tapura Huiraatira Party is widely expected to be re-elected following his party's landslide victory in the elections two weeks ago.

His challengers are Geffry Salmon of the Tahoeraa Huiraatira Party and five-time president Oscar Temaru of the pro-independence Tavini Huiraatira Party.

Mr Fritch became president in 2014 when Gaston Flosse was forced to resign because of a corruption conviction which carried with it ineligibility to hold office.

Mr Fritch was convicted for corruption twice in the past term and ordered to repay more than $US80,000 but has been allowed to stay in office.

Both he and Gaston Flosse are still due to stand trial for alleged abuse of public funds over making a local council provide water to Flosse's residence for free.

A complaint against Mr Fritch has been lodged, alleging he broke campaign financing law with a trip to the outer island.

On Friday, the assembly elected Gaston Tong Sang as assembly president for five years, just two months after he was given a one-year suspended jail sentence and a fine of $US20,000 for abusing public funds.