18 Jan 2018

Tongan PM and MPs sworn in

2:51 pm on 18 January 2018

Tonga's MPs and cabinet have officially been sworn in this morning.

After days of uncertainty surrounding his health, the Prime Minister 'Akilisi Pohiva was also in attendance.

The Speaker of the House, Lord Fakafanua, (left), and PM 'Akilisi Pohiva.

The Speaker of the House, Lord Fakafanua, (left), and PM 'Akilisi Pohiva. Photo: Tonga Parliament

Today's sitting was the first since the November snap election triggered by the royal dissolution of parliament over concerns surrounding the previous Pohiva government's conduct.

It was also the first sitting since last week's opening, which Mr Pohiva missed because he had been admitted into the local Intensive Care Unit.

There's been scant information about the prime minister's health, prompting local media to complain about the silence from his office.

But Mr Pohiva was in parliament today to be sworn in for his second consecutive term, along with his cabinet and fellow representatives.

A government minister said Mr Pohiva was recovering and that all was well with his administration, although the prime minister did leave before the end of the sitting.

All 27 MPs were in attendance apart from the Minister of Finance, Pohiva Tu'ionetoa, who was off island on medical leave.

During the sitting Parliament also re-appointed Ha'apai MP Veivosa Taka as the Whole House Committee Chair and assigned Tongatapu MP Losaline Ma'asi and Noble's Representative Lord Vaha'i to submit the House's response to the King's Message from the Throne.

The House was adjourned until Monday.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs