31 Oct 2017

Sport: Host countries announced for OFC Champions League

1:48 pm on 31 October 2017

Vanuatu, Tahiti, New Zealand and Solomon Islands will host the Group Stage of the OFC Champions League football competition.

Group A will be held in Vanuatu from 10-18 February, with local debutantes Nalkutan FC joined by Papua New Guinea's Lae City Dwellers, Ba FC from Fiji and the winners of the Qualifying Stage.

Tahiti's AS Dragon will host Group B in Papeete, which also features New Caledonia's AS Lossi, Erakor Golden Star from Vanuatu and the Solomon Islands champions.

Defending champions Auckland City will host their group for the second year running, from 24 February to 4 March, alongside Fiji's Lautoka FC, Madang FC from Papua New Guinea and AS Venus of Tahiti.

Auckland FC celebrate winning the 2017 OFC Champions League.

Auckland FC celebrate winning the 2017 OFC Champions League. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Group D plays out concurrently in Honiara with the runner-up of the Solomon Islands S-League joined by Team Wellington from New Zealand, AS Magenta from New Caledonia and the Qualifier runners-up.

The OFC Champions League 2018 begins in Pago Pago, American Samoa in January with the four club champions from American Samoa, Cook Islands, Samoa and Tonga competing for the two remaining places in the final 16.