25 Sep 2017

New Caledonia members of French Senate elected

8:18 am on 25 September 2017

Two anti-independence politicians have been elected as New Caledonia's members of the French Senate for a six-year term.

A leading anti-independence New Caledonian politician, Pierre Frogier.

Pierre Frogier returns to the French Senate Photo: AFP

The incumbent Pierre Frogier and a new candidate Gerard Poadja, who were standing on the same ticket, were elected in the first round of voting.

They were chosen by an electoral college of 552 members who were called to vote at the French High Commission in Noumea.

They secured a majority of votes in the first round, beating into second place rival pro-independence candidates Emile Nachoro and Jean Creugnet.

The two remaining candidates, Isabelle Lafleur and Manuel Millar, trailed in fifth and sixth place.

About half of the French Senate seats were up for renewal, including the two held by New Caledonia.

The vote was New Caledonia's last major election before next year's independence referendum.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs