11 Nov 2016

Sport: Samoa and France name sides to meet in Toulouse

1:45 pm on 11 November 2016

Patrick Faapale will wear the number 10 jersey for Manu Samoa when the team takes on France at the Stadium Municipal at the weekend.

With Tusi Pisi out injured, Faapale is flyhalf alongside Kahn Fotuali'i as the Samoans look to upset les Bleus.

Patrick Faapale representing Samoa vs the Barbarians last year

Patrick Faapale representing Samoa vs the Barbarians last year Photo: Photosport

David Lemi will again lead the side.

Lemi joins Paul Perez and Paul Williams in the back-three with the experienced Rey Lee-Lo and George Pisi starting in the midfield.

North Harbour and former NZ U20 player Christopher Vui will partner with Filo Paulo in the locking combination for the Samoans.

For France, Maxime Machenaud has been selected at scrumhalf by France coach Guy Noves.

The Racing man will play alongside experienced flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc.

With Machenaud starting, the 22-year-old Baptise Serin, who played a crucial part in Les Bleus's 27-0 demolition of Argentina in June, will start on the bench.

New Zealand born Samoan Uini Atonio is on the tighthead side of the scrum for France.

NZ born French prop, Uini Atonio

NZ born French prop, Uini Atonio Photo: Photosport


15 Paul Williams

14 Paul Perez

13 George Pisi

12 Rey Lee-Lo

11 David Lemi (c)

10 Patrick Faapale

9 Kahn Fotuali'i

8 Genesis Mamea-Lemalu

7 Jack Lam

6 Alafoti Faosiliva

5 Filo Paulo

4 Christopher Vui

3 Census Johnston

2 Manu Leaiataua

1 Zac Taulafo

Substitutes: Elia Elia, Logovi'i Mulipola, Anthony Perenise, Jeff Lepa, Gregory Foe, Pele Cowley, D'Angelo Leuila, Ken Pisi.


15 Scott Spedding

14 Yoann Huget

13 Remi Lamerat

12 Wesley Fofana

11 Virimi Vakatawa

10 Francois Trinh-Duc

9 Maxime Machenaud

8 Louis Picamoles

7 Kevin Gourdon

6 Loann Goujon

5 Yoann Maestri

4 Julien Le Gevedec

3 Uini Atonio

2 Guilhem Guirado

1 Jefferson Poirot

Substitutes: Camille Chat, Cyril Baille, Rabah Slimani, Sebastien Vahaamahina, Charles Ollivon, Baptiste Serin, Jean-Marc Doussain, Gael Fickou.