4 Nov 2016

Sport: Seven new caps for Fiji 7s team

10:26 am on 4 November 2016

Seven new players have been selected in the Fiji sevens team to contest the men's Oceania Championships in Suva next weekend.

Osea Kolinisau will lead the Olympic and World Series champions' squad, which includes fellow gold medallists Jasa Veremalua and Samisoni Viriviri.

Fiji Rugby Union CEO John O'Connor said even with some players overseas there is still a huge pool of talent available in Fiji.

"I am happy that we have been able to identify these players and bring them into camp to prepare them for the Oceania 7s," he said.

"They have shown a lot of progress in the two weeks of camp which proves their selection into the team."

Interim coaches Naca Cawanibuka and Ropate Kauvesi are in charge of the team until incoming head coach Gareth Baber arrives in January.

Fiji Sevens win gold in Rio. The first ever olympic medal for the country and the first Gold medal for the whole of the Pacific region.

The Fiji sevens team includes many changes from the line-up that prevailed in Rio. Photo: AFP

Meanwhile new caps Asena Yalewalili and Ana Maria Naimasi have been selected in the Fijiana women's squad for the Oceania event, after an intense month long training camp.

John O'Connor said that this is an indication that there are a lot of female players that are getting interested in the game of rugby.

"The FRU Development Unit has been promoting the game of rugby to girls around the country through the (Get Into Rugby) program. With girls now wanting to play, this shows that the interest has intensified and that the pool of female players is starting to grow."

The men's competition will feature Australia, Samoa, Tonga, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, Solomon Islands, American Samoa, Nauru, New Caledonia and Fiji.

The women's competition includes Australia, Samoa, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, Tonga, Solomon Islands and Fiji.

Fiji men's team:

1. Setareki Bituniyata

2. Risiate Tadulala

3. Jasa Veremalua

4. Kalioni Nasoko

5. Sevuloni Tawake

6. Timoci Sinaite

7. Waisea Nacuqu

8. Kitione Taliga

9. Osea Kolinisau

10. Donasio Ratubuli

11. Samisoni Viriviri

12. Joeli Lutumailagi

13. Lepani Kurimudu

14. Nacanieli Labalaba

Fiji women's team:

1. Rusila Nagasau

2. Merewai Cumu

3. Miriama Naiobasali

4. Jiowana Sauto

5. Pricilla Siata

6. Ana Maria Roqica

7. Timaima Ravisa

8. Viniana Riwai

9. Lavenia Tinai

10. Asena Yalewalili

11. Reijieli Daveua

12. Ana Maria Naimasi