22 Sep 2016

Nauru Speaker celebrates South Ossetia independence

1:56 pm on 22 September 2016

A Nauru delegation led by the Speaker Cyril Buraman has attended the independence celebration of the Georgian breakaway republic of South Ossetia.

Nauru is the only Pacific country left to recognise South Ossetia as an independent country after Vanuatu and then Tuvalu rescinded diplomatic ties.

South Ossetia's information service quotes President Leonid Tibolov as expressing his gratitude for Nauru's support in most difficult times.

He noted that Nauru is a member of the United Nations, the Commonwealth, the Pacific Islands Forum and the Pacific Community.

South Ossetia is also recognised as an independent country by Russia, Venezuela and Nicaragua.

President of South Ossetia Leonid Tibilov

President of South Ossetia Leonid Tibilov Photo: AFP