30 Aug 2016

Nauru election petitions lodged

11:31 am on 30 August 2016

Former Nauru MPs have confirmed they lodged petitions against the results of the July 9 election.

Former president Sprent Dabwido said there have been petitions against the results in the Boe, Meneng and Ubenide electorates.

Former Nauru president Sprent Dabwido

Former Nauru president Sprent Dabwido Photo: supplied

The Justice Minister David Adeang represents the Ubenide electorate while the President Baron Waqa is from Boe.

Mr Dabwido lost his Meneng seat.

He said a witness has sworn that Mr Adeang accompanied electoral officials in the delivery of ballot boxes to one location and was inside the restricted area then later in the day the President's niece was ejected from a vote-counting session.

He also said there were inconsistencies with the rolls.

"There's missing votes everywhere, the actual electoral roll is twice the size of what's expected. The electoral roll that we can actually purchase from the electoral commissioner was actually different from the electoral roll that was used on the day, so there's all this strange stuff on the actual election."

Mr Dabwido said his lawyer has not heard from the Court of Electoral Disputes but is expecting a hearing late in September.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs