11 Jul 2016

Voting in Nauru continues in last constituency

1:16 pm on 11 July 2016

Voting in Nauru's election has continued today in the one remaining constituency of Aiwo.

no caption

Photo: 123rf

Voting there was adjourned late on Friday to sort out a legal technicality after a challenge by a failed nominee.

Court proceedings at the weekend saw a new writ issued so polling in the two seat Aiwo constituency could take place today.

Earlier a failed nominee Tazio Gideon, had challenged the Electoral Commmission and the Supreme Court placed an interim injunction on the poll.

Voting resumed this morning for Aiwo with five candidates in the running.

A spokesperson for the Commission says final results from Aiwo are expected about 10 this evening local time.

All the other seats for the 19 member parliament have been finalised.

Voters rejected three of the MPs who'd been suspended in the last parliament and returned the former president Baron Waqa and his justice minister David Adeang.

An announcement of the make-up of the government is not expected before Tuesday.