Tahiti assembly majority consolidates

12:17 pm on 15 January 2016

French Polynesia's assembly groups making up the ruling majority have formally merged into a single group known as RMA.

The RMA has 29 members in the 57-strong assembly and is comprised of the Tapuna Huiraatira group and the Atia Porinetia party.

The remaining 28 seats are shared between the anti-independence Tahoeraa Huiraatira and the pro-independence Union for Democracy.

The RMA emerged as a result of a split within the Tahoeraa, whose deputy leader Edouard Fritch became president in 2014 when Gaston Flosse lost office because of a corruption conviction.

Mr Fritch and others who were expelled or resigned are expected to form a new party at an inaugural congress on February the 20th.

The French Polynesia parliament building

The French Polynesia parliament building Photo: RNZ