9 Nov 2015

Sport: Pacific Islands Rugby Player of Year to be decided

12:23 pm on 9 November 2015

The Pacific Islands Rugby Player Association's supreme player award will be revealed later this week.

Fiji's Leone Nakarawa and Nemani Nadolo, Samoa's Tim Nanai-Williams and Paul Perez and Tonga's Telusa Veainu and Siale Piutau have all been shortlisted for the PIPA Player of the Year 2015.

Leone Nakarawa makes a run against Wales at RWC 2015.

Leone Nakarawa makes a run against Wales at RWC 2015. Photo: Photosport

Tim Nanai-Williams playing for Samoa.

Tim Nanai-Williams playing for Samoa. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Telusa Veainu is competing in his first Rugby World Cup for Tonga.

Telusa Veainu on the run during the Pacific Nations Cup. Photo: AFP

PIPA's member services manager, Josh Blackie, says the award is voted on by pacific players so is seen as a great honour.

Blackie says although the Pacific teams weren't as successful as they might have hoped, individual players have starred again.

"Leone [Nakarawa] was certainly one of those during the World Cup and they had some pretty big games that Fiji participated in and the likes of Paul Perez from Samoa, who had a good breakthrough year, and Telusa Veainu from Tonga as well: guys that probably weren't too well-known before the World Cup but now they're definitely seen as high quality world class players".

Nili Latu and Nemani Nadolo have won the previous PIPA awards.