More reshuffled Solomons ministers take oaths

12:14 pm on 1 September 2015

Two more reshuffled government ministers in Solomon Islands are sworn in at government house in Honiara.

This comes after reports of discontent among some of the reshuffled ministers, including the former forestry minister Bodo Dettke.

Officials at Government House say five of the six reshuffled ministers have now taken their oaths - the latest being Bodo Dettke who now becomes the Minister of Culture and Tourism and Freda Tuki taking the portfolio for Youth, Women and Children's Affairs.

Ms Tuki says she was swayed to take the new post after talking with her constituents.

no caption

The Solomon Islands parliament. Photo: RNZI Koroi Hawkins

Only Bartholomew Parapolo remains to be sworn in as the Minister of Forestry and Research, a portfolio undergoing sweeping reforms that have seen the recent revocation of 30 agro-forestry licenses across the country.

The other reshuffled ministers who have taken their oaths are Jimson Tanangada Rural Development, Dudley Kopu Agriculture and Augustine Auga Provincial Government.