21 Nov 2014

First results declared after Solomons election

1:21 pm on 21 November 2014

First official results from the Solomon Islands eelctions show there will be at leat two new MPs.

no caption

Photo: RNZI Koroi Hawkins

Four of the 50 seats have been declared but preliminary figures from other constituencies have been released.

From Honiara, Koroi Hawkins reports.

"Government House has officially declared four provincial candidates. The two who have retained their seats include former MP, Milner Tozaka for North Vella La Vella and the care taker Minister for Rural Development Lionel Alex from South Vella La Vella Constituency. A new MP is John Dean Kuku in North New Georgia who unseated veteran politician Job Dudley Tausinga reportedly by a very large margin. Also new is Dr Culwick Togamana who unseated Varian Lonamei in the Maringe Kokota Constituency. Counting continues today but unofficial numbers leaked last night for the capital show all three MP's for East, Central and West Honiara leading their respective polls."