30 Sep 2014

Sport: Australian Prime Minister's 13 team named for PNG clash

4:10 pm on 30 September 2014

A strong Australian Prime Minister's 13 squad has been announced to face Papua New Guinea in next weekend's annual clash in Kokopo.

Gold Coast Titans forward Greg Bird will captain the team, which also includes former Samoa internationals Josh McGuire and Anthony Milford, Tongan World Cup representative Daniel Tupou

and Cook Islands prop Dylan Napa.

The team will be coached by New South Wales State of Origin boss Laurie Daley, who will have a chance to renew his rivalry with Queensland and Kumuls coach Mal Meninga.

Australian Kangaroos Tim Sheens helped select the team has says the withdrawal of a number of senior players through injury opens the way for some rising stars to be given an opportunity alongside experienced names such as Bird, Ryan Hoffman and Robbie Farah.

The Prime Minister's XIII team squad is:

Matt Moylan (Penrith Panthers)

Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)

Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm)

Sione Mata'utia (Newcastle Knights)

Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters)

Anthony Milford (Canberra Raiders)

Ben Hunt (Brisbane Broncos)

Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)

Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)

Ryan Hoffman (Melbourne Storm)

Beau Scott (Newcastle Knights)

Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans)

Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)

Brenton Lawrence (Manly Sea Eagles)

Josh McGuire (Brisbane Broncos)

Dylan Napa (Sydney Roosters)

Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)