25 Sep 2014

Fiji swears in 19 member Cabinet

1:40 pm on 25 September 2014

Fiji's Prime Minister Frank Bainimarama has introduced his new cabinet which includes new and old faces.

The 19 posts go to members of his FijiFirst party which won a landslide victory in the election last week.

The ministers swore an oath of allegiance at Government House in Suva today.

The former Attorney General Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum is to be Minister of Finance, Public Enterprise, Tourism and Trade in the new administration.

The Attorney General portfolio and Justice goes to newcomer, Nadi lawyer, Faiyaz Koya.

Fiji's Government House.

Fiji's Government House. Photo: RNZ / Sally Round

Dr Neil Sharma lost his post as Health Minister, which has been given to the former Labour Minister Jone Usamate.

Ratu Inoke Kubuabola retains the Foreign Affairs portfolio.

Among the new faces are the former CEO of Fiji Pine Trust Osea Naiqamu as Minister of Fisheries and Forests, a tourism operator Lorna Eden who holds several associate portfolios, and the paralympian Iliesa Delana who is associate youth and sports minister.

Former senior civil servant Pio Tikoduadua is Infrastructure and Transport Minister.

The Education portfolio has gone to Mahendra Reddy.

Meanwhile, FBC news reports Dr Jiko Luveni will be the new Speaker for the House of Representatives.

Dr Luveni, who will be the first woman to assume this role - says she is very humbled with the appointment.

She was the Minister for Women, social welfare and poverty in the previous government.