14 Aug 2014

Samoa readies for by-election

4:15 pm on 14 August 2014

Five candidates will be contesting tomorrow's by-election for Samoa's Gagaifomauga number one territorial constituency.

This follows the death of the ruling HRPP party MP and Associate Minister, Tuilo'a Anitele'a Tuilo'a, last month.

Four HRPP party candidates, one of them a woman, will be standing against one opposition Tautua Samoa party candidate.

The Electoral Commissioner, Papalii Malietau Malietoa, says polling booths will open at eight in the morning and close at three in the afternoon.

The electorate has about 2,000 voters.

The five candidates are Faimalotoa Iemaima Kika Stowers, Ga'iga Aukisitino, Lavea Ieti, Taito Tanu Jnr Mu'ese and Lavea Peseta Lua Nafoi.