23 May 2014

Yanno elected New Caledonia Congress president

1:36 pm on 23 May 2014

New Caledonia's Congress has elected Gael Yanno as its new president.

Mr Yanno secured the 29 votes of the anti-independence members, beating in the first round the two rivals of the pro-independence camp.

Caroline Machoro won 19 votes and Emile Nechero nine.

Mr Yanno stood on the list of the Union of Caledonia within France in this month's provincial election and is a former member of the French National Assembly.

no caption

Photo: Congres Nouvelle Caledonie

His election is part of an agreement among the three anti-independence parties, which last week saw Philippe Michel elected as the president of the southern province.

The power-sharing agreement provides for the new Congress to elect Cynthia Ligeard as the president of the territorial government.

During its term, the new Congress is tasked with organising an independence referendum in line with the 1998 Noumea Accord.