24 Jan 2014

Tokelauan voters make big changes in ongoing government

4:50 pm on 24 January 2014

Tokelau is to have three new faces on the country's six person council of the ongoing government.

The only faipule retained from the previous government is Foua Toloa from Fakaofo, while Kuresa Nasau of Atafu is back after losing his seat in the 2011 election.

The third faipule in the new government is Nukunonu's Sio Perez.

The other 3 members making up the council are the pulenuku, or village chiefs.

Nukunonu and Atafu's Panapa Sakaria and Faafetai Taumanu, have been re-elected with Mose Pelasio, from Fakaofo, winning his first term.