21 Jun 2013

Sport: Pacific pair nominated for Sevens Player of the Year

8:35 am on 21 June 2013

Samoa captain Afa Aiono and Fiji star Joji Raqamate have been named as finalists for the IRB Sevens Player of the Year award.

Both players were selected in the IRB World Series team of the year last month following their exploits over the past eight months.

New Zealand's Gillies Kaka and Tim Mikkelson, South African pair Cornal Hendricks and Frankie Horne, Englishman Dan Norton and Kenya's Willie Ambaka have also been nominated.

The list will be further shortened at the end of the pool rounds of Rugby World Cup Sevens next weekend.