10 Apr 2012

Niue signs Nuclear Test Ban Treaty

1:29 pm on 10 April 2012

Niue has signed the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty, bringing to 183 the number of signatory countries to that treaty.

The Vienna-based Commission overseeing the treaty says Niue's signature consolidates the Pacific region's firm stand against nuclear testing and closes the door on nuclear testing a bit further.

In the Pacific, only Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands have yet to ratify the treaty, while Tonga and Tuvalu still need to sign and ratify it.

For it to enter into force, the treaty has to be ratified by the eight remaining nuclear capable countries which are China, North Korea, Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the United States.