13 Sep 2011

Sport: Manu Samoa stick with winning team to open Rugby World Cup

10:28 am on 13 September 2011

The Manu Samoa rugby side which historically defeated Australia in July has been named to open their world cup against Namibia in Rotoura tomorrow.

Samoa assistant coach Tom Coventry says it was important to name a stable side.

"We need some consistency with performance and I think the players appreciate that and are looking to this coaching staff to select a 15 that is strong.Gives them some opportunity to develop an understanding of each others play.Its been a bit of a gap between matches.So we are conscious of using our squad but getting a good performance under our belt."


Samoa Namibia

15-Paul Williams 15-Chrysander Botha

14-Sailosi Tagicakibau 14-Danie Dames

13-George Pisi 13-Danie van Wyk

12-Seilala Mapusua 12-Piet van Zyl

11-Alesana Tuilagi 11-Llewellyn Winkler

10-Tusi Pisi 10-Theuns Kotze

9-Kahn Fotuali'i 9-Eugene Jantjies

8-George Stowers 8-Pieter Jan van Lill

7-Maurie Faasavalu 7-Jacques Burger (Captain)

6-Taiasina Tuifua 6-Jacques Nieuwenhuis

5-Kane Thompson 5-Henk Franken

4-Daniel Leo 4-Heinz Koll

3-Anthony Perenise 3-Raoul Larson

2-Mahonri Schwalger (Captain) 2-Hugo Horn

1-Sakaria Taulafo 1-Johnnie Redelinghuys


16-Ti'i Paulo 16-Bertus O'Callaghan

17-Census Johnston 17-Jane du Toit

18-Joe Tekori 18-Nico Esterhuyse

19-Ofisa Treviranus 19-Rohan Kitshoff

20-Junior Poluleuligaga 20-Ryan de la Harpe

21-Eliota Sapolu Fuimaono 21-Darryl de la Harpe

22-Tasesa Lavea 22-Tetrius Losper

Coaches: Titimaea Tafua Johan Diergaardt