1 Aug 2011

Samoa ruling party sweeps by-elections

6:56 am on 1 August 2011

The opposition Tautua Samoa party has failed to increase its number in the house after the weekend's four by-elections.

The ruling HRPP party won all four seats, including the Vaisigano number one seat which had been held by the former opposition party leader Vaai Papu Vailupe.

That seat was won by Vaai's challenger in the general election, Tufuga Gafoa leata Faitua, who filed an election petition against the former Tautua Samoa party leader who was found guilty of bribery and treating.

The win gives the HRPP 37 seats, maintaining its two thirds majority, with Tautua Samoa still having 12 in the house.

The new MPs are Fagaivalu Kenrick Samu for Aleipata Itupa i Luga, Alo Fulifuli Taveuveu for Anoama'a east, Lautafi Pio Selafi for Satupa'itea, and Tufuga Gafoaleata Faitua for Vaisigano number one.