13 May 2010

Nauru parliament elects speaker in sixth attempt

2:36 pm on 13 May 2010

The parliament of Nauru has elected Godfrey Thoma as its new Speaker, nearly three weeks after an early general election.

The Government Information Office says Mr Thoma was nominated and elected this morning after five previous attempts to choose a speaker in the 18-member assembly had failed.

Before any nomination, an MP Dantes Tsitsi wanted to know from the Clerk of Parliament whether members of the caretaker government were eligible for the position.

The clerk said this was possible only if there was a vacancy in government but since there was a caretaker government, it would be inappropriate to nominate any of its members.

Another member asked whether a caretaker government meant it was business as usual, with the clerk confirming it being the case.

Mr Tsitsi then nominated Godfrey Thoma, who accepted the offer.