3 May 2010

Samoa by-elections reduced to two contests

7:49 am on 3 May 2010

One of the three Tautua Samoa party candidates and former independent MP, Va'ai Papu Vailupe Va'ai, has been re-elected unopposed.

When nominations closed for the Vaisigano number one constituency, Vaai Papu was the only candidate for the planned by-election on May the 14th.

This means voters in only Safata and Faleata west will go to the polls, which were called when the three resigned over the recent electoral amendments.

In Safata, the ruling HRPP party has Manu'alesagalala Enokati Posala and Auseuga'efa Vaasatia Poloma Komiti, running against Tautua Samoa party candidate and former HRPP government minister, Palusalue Faapo II.

In Faleata west, the Tautua Samoa party chairman, Lealailepule Rimoni Aiafi, will be running against the HRPP's Ale Vena and Ulugia Petelo.