14 Feb 2008

Former Solomons Cabinet Ministers told they can hold on to their government cars

3:22 pm on 14 February 2008

A Solomon Islands High Court judge has ruled five former ministers can hold on to their government vehicles.

They are Francis Zama, Mark Kemakeza, Siriako Usa, Augustine Taneko and Peter Shanel.

The Solomon Star reports Justice Goldsbrough said under the Parliament Entitlement Regulation the five former ministers are entitled to government vehicles because they are now chairmen of government statutory bodies.

Justice Goldsbrough ordered former Home Affairs minister Bernard Ghiro to return his car because he's not entitle to keep that vehicle.

The ruling came after Solicitor-General Reginald Teutao took the vehicles issue to court.

Other former ministers are still to face court.